Crimson Christmas

Here’s a little holiday cheer at the start of summer–a little snippet from my WIP about Arthur, a certain snarky being who just can’t stop complaining–

This is my favorite season—Christmas.

I know what you’re thinking, though; I think it every night myself, too. How can a vampire love Christmas, it being a religious holiday and all? Well, the truth is that I’ve never been religious, so it doesn’t bother me in the least. I’ve loved this holiday since Victorian times, when I lived in London, and take it from me, they know how to do Christmas. Not like here in modern America, where one is subjected to shouting displays of BUY BUY BUY, and SPEND SPEND SPEND every time one turns on the telly.

I do watch too much telly, I suppose. I’m alone, so what else is there to do at night but watch the endless streams of soppy shows that drift across the airways? It got a tad bit better when I got BBC 1, but not much.

And the dining situation? Hopeless. I wish someone of my undead status could just ring for takeaway, but no. What would I do with the food? I could sample the delivery person, I suppose, but the logistics of that situation would be horrifying. I only have to bleed my victims once a month, but bleed them I do, until they’re as empty as Honey BooBoo’s head. Then, I live on the leftovers.  I don’t kill where I eat.

 

14 thoughts on “Crimson Christmas

  1. Talk about being lonely and sounding hopeless. I’m sure I could give him a few ideas to pass the time at night other than watching TV. LOL. Plus, the image of sampling the delivery man that was conjured in my head was quite a funny one.

    Like

  2. Thank you, your comments were quite lovely 🙂 He does get hopeless at times, thinking about how long it’s been and how long he has yet to go, I suppose. Kind of like how some humans feel around the holidays—

    Like

Leave a Reply

