Together still

For my snippet this Sunday, I chose a continuation of my Rainbow Snippet of yesterday from The Ancient–Bruce and Jeffrey have finally found each other again, and they’re not letting go–

“I remember the snowball fights we used to have, then going inside to get warm under that fur quilt.”  He leaned over and whispered in Jeffrey’s ear. “God, I loved that fur quilt, and what was under it.”

Jeffrey nodded, smiling, then stopped and looked at Bruce’s overnight bag. His eyes got bright, crinkling up at the edges.  “Are–are you staying the night, love?  Can I be that lucky?”

“I am, if that’s all right.”  He smiled.

Jeffrey gave him an exasperated look.

“Is it any wonder that I love you so much?”  He took Bruce’s hand and looked in his eyes, seeing the bright, happy look.  “Yes, I said it, Bruce. I never said it enough, and I intend to say it now every chance I get.”  He looked at Bruce closer, searching his face.

“I love you. I’m in love with you, I’ve been in love with you from the moment you walked out of that bookstore, and I’ll be in love with you when we’re eighty years old and feeding pigeons from a park bench.”

Bruce cradled his face in his hands again.  “Just don’t wear your belt under your armpits and you’ve got a deal.”

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U0OE4O4The Ancient (1)

 

18 thoughts on “Together still

  1. Bruce is one half of the couple that Alasdair Connery has marked–Jeffrey is Bruce’s long lost college lover. Here’s the blurb. Let me know if you were wrong 🙂
    Alasdair Connery has seen a lot in ten thousand years.
    He’s the first of his kind; the father of all nightwalkers. Together with his trusted assistant Edgar, he trolls for victims to feed from at his time of blood lust. When he’s invited to a wedding, he meets his perfect choices—a married couple. Bruce and Jules have their own sets of insecurities and secrets. She hides a wealth of insecurities under a shield of bravado, and Bruce? He hides the fact that he can’t stop thinking about the love of his life—his college flame Dr. Jeffrey Bayfield. With Alasdair’s powers of seduction working a little too well, he finds that both of them are growing somewhat dependent on him.
    Growing increasingly annoyed at their emotional baggage, some of which he is responsible for, he’s willing to put up with their games for a short time, but something has to happen before his blood fever is over for another fifty years and he has to go back to donors once again, unable to kill humans for their red gift. He rather likes the killing part.
    And what is he going to do about Edgar’s own growing feelings for him?

    Like

  2. It has no real significance–it’s just Bruce being a smart alec and commenting on some choices that elderly gentlemen might make –perhaps to keep their pants up ?? I’m glad you liked it –thanks much 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

