Ninian’s Memory

Here’s a snippet from my WIP, in which Ninian is returning from his trip to his memory palace.

Ninian dragged himself through the halls of his memory palace, leaving that small cottage with the images of his initiation and the taking of his revenge against Ronan, Cathal, and Bran in their turn, feasting upon them as thoroughly as he had Niall. He watched with a touch of sadness as he readied himself for the trip to London, and Ruathal setting his cottage aflame, going inside one last time. He walked past the room where he spied Carlo in the library at Oxford, that studious young man, and fell in love with him once more as he took him for his own. He watched the betrayal as he woke from his rest alone, Carlo having left him.

He finished waking to the present world in that same library, his intercom buzzer going off.

Barely restraining himself from smashing the phone to bits, he answered.

Read more Snippets here:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/RainbowSnippets/?fref=nf

My muse for Ninian–ninian

 

18 thoughts on “Ninian’s Memory

  1. Interesting memories. (And if he wants to smash a phone, can he come to work with me, please? I’d get my med pass done so much sooner if the phone was little bits of plastic and wires…)

    Like

  2. Ninian’s ability is very vibrant; it hoes have something to do with his vampiric mage skills that he’s honed over the past thousand years 🙂 Ninian might very well be past redemption, however–

    Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’m glad you liked it. I did a little research into it. It’s a handy thing to have for a being like Ninian who has a thousand years of memories so far 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks, I’m glad you liked it 🙂 Yes, that young man makes a fine muse for Ninian, but for him, the hair would be a problem. You see, he was turned in medieval Ireland, and he was caught having sex with his boyfriend–because Ninian was the bottom at that particular time, he was turned out of the tribe, and his hair was cut off; his beard, also. Since he was turned not long after that, it didn’t get a chance to grow out 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve never developed a knack for building memory palaces, but I’m always intrigued by people who do. Interesting snippet!

    (Also, are you on twitter? I looked for you there but there were so many Kathy Griffiths that I didn’t know who was who.)

    Like

    1. I’m glad you liked the snippet; Ninian’s memory palace is quite extensive, since he’s almost a thousand years old 🙂 I first became acquainted with the concept when I read Hannibal, and I did some research.

      Alas, no, I’m not on Twitter; I don’t have a smartphone, so I don’t twit 🙂 But if I had a dollar for everytime someone thought I was Kathy Griffin, I’d be rich haha 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

